Atlas’s Burden

Vista e Celestia  index                                             Next Painting


Oil on canvas 45”x57”

According to legend, Atlas was burdened to hold heaven and
earth together. Most of the cultures believed in seven
heavens and seven hells. In Indian mythology the seventh
hell was called Patala.

Atlas was condemned to hold celestial sphere.   The celestial sphere, some times referred as Brahmand in Indian mythology contained everything in our universe.  It included seven abyss and seven heavens.

Seven abyss were named as  Atala, Vitala, Sutala, Talatala, Mahatala, Rasatala and Patala.  Seven heavens were named as Bhuloka (the Earth), Bhuvarloka, Svarloka, Maharloka, Janarloka, Tapoloka and Satyaloka.  Concept of Seven heavens has been held by other cultures as well such as judaism and islam.

In many cultures the planets were considered as living beings.  This was because of their irregular motion in celestial space.

The painting gets inspired by all the ideas.

The companion of this painting is the situation when Atlas is unable to hold the celestial globe together.  Yugant happens as shown in the painting.

Oil on canvas 18″x24″

Vista e Celestia  index                                             Next Painting

4 thoughts on “Atlas’s Burden”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *